RSS

Rain walk

04 Aug

I had planned a long walk for today after church but just before we set out I nipped into the garden for a few flower shots… this is one of the lilies on my pond…

DSC_1071

And there were are some hover flies around a flower. I’m not hot on names of flowers, so comment if you know the name of this one….

DSC_1069

Then the rain came down, so instead of venturing out I had a siesta.  When I woke from my Sunday slumbers the weather forecast said it would be sunny for the rest of the afternoon, the clouds threatened otherwise, but I decided to risk it.  Buddy and I headed past the gardens…. spotting a Red Admiral (but I was too slow to snap a photo) and a Comma on route…

DSC_1075

There were some brilliant yellow flowers covered with bumble bees….

DSC_1115

And then as we reached the fields it started to spit with rain.  Sheltering near the hedgerow I spotted yet another Comma, on the thistles this time.

DSC_1080

Some bees…

DSC_1094

And then the heavens opened!  Thank God for trees!  Buddy and I ran for cover and sheltered under this sycamore tree, waiting for the clouds to pass.

DSC_1085

The rain seemed to bring out new creatures, like snails…..

DSC_1098

DSC_1089

And slugs……

DSC_1099

But the treat of the day had to be this beetle.

DSC_1102

I was amazed to find out that one fifth of the 1.5 million species on earth are beetles.  How come I have not seen them before on my walks…. am I not looking carefully enough? They range in size from less than a millimeter to over six inches.

DSC_1104

This is a type of longhorn beetle. Can anyone shed light on the species?  I understand there are about 60 species of longhorn beetles in the UK and this is the first time I have ever seen one!

DSC_1106

Next was a ringlet….

DSC_1092

Then as I headed home I heard a noise in the trees and just turned round in time to spot a robin…

DSC_1112

Then it was down past the field

DSC_1114

and home. Praise God for the wonders of nature!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2013 in Bird, Flowers, Insects

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
