RSS

Day 2 – Live Below the Line – 96p

29 Apr

Today has been really hard for me.  It started well with a tasty Banana Smoothie for breakfast. I used a brown overripe banana (reduced to just 5p) with 200ml of milk (10p) and whizzed it in the blender.  A great start to the day for just 15p.

Milkshake

However, by 11am I was really hungry and by 11:30am was tucking into my lunch, finishing off the potato, carrot and lentil soup from yesterday (37p) (see the previous blog).  That made for a really long afternoon. During my visit to London my eyes and nose were drawn to all the food outlets I passed – temptation on every corner.

bakery

I had to decline the offer of lunch out with ‘All We Can’ staff and trustees (much to my disappointment). As the afternoon board meeting continued my stomach began to rumble.  Watching the ‘All We Can’ video clip  was a good reminder about why I am doing this challenge. All We Can is a small international development agency that works with small partners overseas in hard to reach communities to build their capacity so they can support local development initiatives. It tries to do All It Can to address poverty and enable people to fulfill their potential.  Poverty is Personal!  So is the Solution! And just like ChildHope, who will benefit from the funds I am raising, All We Can is ensuring children below the poverty line have opportunities for development.

By the time I got on the train home I was famished and was being challenged to think about my food consumption. It was sobering to be reminded that over 200 million children will go to bed hungry tonight.  Organisations like ChildHope, All We Can and The Leprosy Mission work among the poorest of the poor to try to stop this happening.

So many people in the carriage on the train home seemed to be eating and drinking; not only did I not have any food but my water I had taken with me had also run out and I could not even buy a drink.  I was so pleased when I arrived home at 8pm to find that my dearest hubby had cooked me dinner.

Never have I so appreciated a simple meal of Aloo Bhujia with chapatti (34p), with a few grapes for pudding (10p)!

aloo

So I’m sure you folks want to know the recipe:

2 potatoes (16p)

1 onion (6p)

1 chilli (1p)

Mustard Oil (3p)

Pinch of Turmeric, 1 tsp panch phoran, 1/2 tsp of coriander powder, salt to taste (2p)

Method:

Thinly slice the potatoes, chop the onion and chilli.

Head the mustard oil, add the panch phoran, onion and chilli.  Fry for a minute and then add the potatoes, salt, a pinch of turmeric, 1/2 tsp of coriander powder.

Add 1/2 cup of water, cover with the lid and cook for 8mins, stirring occasionally (gently) until the potatoes are soft.

This was served with 3 warm chapatti (6p) – see the previous blog for the recipe. With a handful of grapes for pudding! (10p)

So if you are feeling sympathy with the cause, what can you do to help?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
